The Workshop

L’atelier Métissage is the harmonious marriage of traditional African fabrics with cotton, silk, organza, leather, velvet, satin and the biculturality of its creator. The workshop offers a set of designs to dress your home with warm colors and elegant materials.

The African fabrics come from West Africa where they are made by craftsmen in the traditional way following the ancestral methods dating back to the 12th century. Fabrics are selected directly on-site with the craftsmen and are combined with modern European fabrics to become unique hand-made pieces. The collection is renewed regularly.

ONE STYLE, SOME FABRICS, ONE STORY :

Africa has some ideas. Along a visit to her workshop, Rocheline Millou will make you discover these rich and varied materials and will make you feel all the emotions that you can experience while in contact with them. The fabrics chosen throughout her travels: the Bogolan, Kente and raffia will without a doubt transport you as well.

Bogolan

Bogolan, a fabric coming from the Earth

Bogolan is a Malian textile dyed following an ancient technique. It is a thick fabric in cotton. The symbols of the selected designs are the identity of a people, a village or an artist. It is a powerful object such as any art. It is impregnated with vital energy.

“Only by seeing and touching it, it brings back happy memories from my childhood : the men under the palaver tree talking and drinking Palm wine, women returning from the field with their children on the back and loaded with bundles of wood on their head, or even us, children, playing barefoot in the court…”

 

Tisserand de kenté

Kente, the sacred fabric

Kente is a multicolored cotton fabric coming from Ghana. Hand-woven using a traditional loom, the production of this fabric has not changed for thousands years. It takes a lot of time and patience. Community leaders were clothed with this sacred fabric during ceremonies since the 12th century.

“Kente gives me a lot of joy and cheerfulness. It is of great beauty and great finesse. It gives me the same feelings as for the bogolan. When someone important was welcomed in the village, women and men wore this stuff to honor him.”

Each color has a symbol:
– Black: maturity, spiritual energy
– Blue: peace, harmony, love
– Green: nature, harvest, growth
– Pink: woman, essence of life
– Purple: femininity
– Gold: royalty, health, preciousness

 

raphia

Raffia, a resistant fabric

Raffia is a kind of Palm tree found in swampy grounds and along rivers. The species is from Madagascar. It is the fiber coming from its leaves which is known as the raffia. Natural and very strong textile fiber, it is woven by hand and traditionally used to make ropes or upholstery fabrics. The raffia threads can be dyed before or after weaving.

As a fiber, the raffia is rigid and difficult to work. “When I touch the fiber, my mind travels and I find back the feelings, the scents and impressions of my childhood and of my native land.”

 

“These fabrics create a bridge between Africa, where I was born and where my family still lives and Europe where I grew up and built my life. This interbreeding represents a return to my roots. Just pick among my creations or let yourself be tempted by custom-made products “

L’atelier

L’atelier Métissage est le mariage harmonieux de tissus traditionnels africains avec du coton, de la soie, de l’organza, du cuir, du velours, du satin et de la biculture de sa créatrice. L’atelier propose un ensemble de créations pour habiller votre intérieur avec des couleurs chaleureuses et des matières élégantes.

Les tissus africains proviennent d’Afrique de l’Ouest où ils sont fabriqués par des artisans de façon traditionnelle selon les méthodes ancestrales remontant au 12ème siècle. Les tissus sont directement choisis sur place auprès de ces artisans et sont combinés aux tissus modernes européens pour devenir des pièces uniques faites à la main dont la collection se renouvelle régulièrement.

UN STYLE, DES TISSUS, UNE HISTOIRE :

L’Afrique a des idées. Au détour d’une visite dans son atelier, Rocheline Millou vous fera toucher ces matières riches et variées et vous fera ressentir toutes les émotions que l’on peut éprouver à leur contact. Les tissus choisis au détour de ses voyages : le Bogolan, le Kente et le Raphia vous transporteront sans aucun doute vous aussi.

Bogolan

Le bogolan, un tissu issu de la terre

Le bogolan est un tissu Malien teint suivant une technique ancestrale. C’est une étoffe épaisse en coton. Les symboles des dessins choisis sont la marque d’identité d’un peuple, d’un village ou d’un artiste. C’est un objet puissant comme tout art. Il est imprégné d’énergie vitale.

« Le fait de le voir et de le toucher fait remonter à la surface des scènes heureuses de mon enfance : les hommes sous l’arbre à palabre en pleine conversation et buvant du vin de palme, les femmes revenant du champ avec leurs enfants sur le dos et chargées de fagots de bois sur la tête ou encore nous les enfants jouant pieds nus dans la cour… »

 

Tisserand de kenté

Le kente, un tissu sacré

Le kente est une étoffe multicolore en coton d’origine Ghanéenne,  tissée à la main à l’aide d’un métier à tisser traditionnel. Sa fabrication n’a pas changé depuis des millénaires. Elle demande beaucoup de temps et de patience. Tissu au caractère sacré, il était revêtu par les notables lors des cérémonies déjà au 12ème siècle.

« Le kente me procure beaucoup de joie et de gaieté. Il est d’une grande beauté et d’une grande finesse. Il me procure les mêmes sensations que le bogolan.  Lorsqu’une personnalité était reçue au village, les femmes et les hommes revêtaient cet étoffe pour l’honorer. »

Chaque couleur a sa symbolique :
– noir : la maturité, l’énergie spirituelle
– bleu : la Paix, l’Harmonie, l’Amour
– vert : la végétation, la récolte , la croissance
– rose :  la femme, l’essence de vie
– violet : la féminité
– or :  la royauté,  la santé, la préciosité



raphia

Le raphia, un tissu résistant

Le raphia est un genre de palmier que l’on rencontre dans les milieux marécageux et le long des fleuves. L’espèce est originaire de Madagascar. C’est la fibre provenant de ses feuilles que l’on nomme le raphia. Fibre textile naturelle et très solide, elle est tissée à la main et traditionnellement utilisée pour fabriquer des cordages ou du tissu d’ameublement. Les fils de raphia peuvent être teintés avant ou après le tissage.

Issu d’une fibre, le raphia est rigide et difficile à travailler. « Lorsque je touche la fibre, mon esprit voyage et je retrouve les sensations, les senteurs et les impressions de mon enfance et de ma terre natale. »

« Ces tissus créent un pont entre l’Afrique où je suis née et où je visite encore ma famille et l’Europe où j’ai grandi et fait ma vie. Ce métissage représente mon retour aux sources. »

Choisissez parmi mes créations ou laissez-vous tenter par le sur-mesure.